Piatti Quartet, Assembly House Music 1pm 25 April

A quick reminder that this month’s  lunchtime concert is on Thursday when we welcome the PIATTI QUARTET – programme is as below.

You may also be interested to know that CHROMA will be performing a very unusual concert of early and contemporary music  in the atmospheric setting of St John’s Church Maddermaket – that’s TO-NIGHT at 7.30pm I hour without interval.

1pm Thursday April 25th at 1pm

Mendelssohn; Quartet in F minor Op 80
Walton; Quartet in A minor

Tickets on the door or www.assemblyhouseclassical.evenbrite.com

And tonight

CHROMA  at St Johns Church, Maddermarket
7.30pm Tuesday 23rd April

AWAKENING –a deeply moving experience

Tickets on the door

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Norfolk & Norwich Chamber Music at John Innes Centre Sunday 7 April 3pm



Norfolk & Norwich Chamber Music Club presents…

Sunday 7 April 2019, 3pm

James Ehnes, violin
Andrew Armstrong,


Violin Sonata in D, Op.12 No.1
Violin Sonata in A, Op.12 No.2
Violin Sonata in A minor, Op.23
Violin Sonata in E flat, Op.12 No.3

(The cycle will be completed next season, 2019-2020)

James Ehnes and Andrew Armstrong begin their journey through the Beethoven violin sonatas with the first four works of the series. The triptych, Op.12, shows the young composer’s style at its most wilfully subversive, from the energy of the opening work and the elegant wit of the middle sonata to the dazzling virtuosity of the last in the series. More mysterious and subdued is the highly compressed A minor Sonata Op.23.

Pre-concert talk by Misha Donat 1.45pm


Posted in Chamber Music, John Innes Centre, lunchtime concerts, Music in Norwich, N&N Chamber Music, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Assembly House Classical Lunchtime concert Thursday 28 March 1pm



19 Year Old Saxophonist ROB BURTON – one of the stars of the BBC YOUNG MUSICIAN 2018 – will be in Norwich on Thursday 1pm for one of the Assembly House classical lunchtime concerts. Those of us who watched the televised final last year will not forget Rob’s charismatic performance. He brings with him pianist CHRISTINE ZERAFA for an exciting programme details below;-

Music Room, Assembly House, Norwich
Thursday March  28 at 1pm

Tickets on the door or online www.assemblyhouseclassical.evenbrite.com

Rob Burton (saxophone) & Christine Zerafa (piano)

Debussy; Saxophone Rhapsodie
Paul Creston; Saxophone Sonata Op.19
Marcello; Concerto in D minor
Robert Planel; Prelude et Saltarelle
Pedro Iturralde; Pequena Czarda


Posted in Assembly House, lunchtime concerts, Music in Norwich, Norwich concerts, Uncategorized, what's on in Norwich | Leave a comment

Tonight at Theatre Royal Norwich Flanders Symphony Orchestra 7.30pm


Photo of Filippo Gorini

Filippo Gorini

Sunday 17 March 2019, 7.30pm


Jan Latham Koenig conductor
Filippo Gorini soloist (piano)

Rossini The Italian Girl in Algiers
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3
Puccini Chrysanthemums
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 (The Scottish)

Tickets: £10 – £37.50

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Concerts at The Chapel, Park Lane, Norwich

There will be a great opportunity to hear some fine piano trios in the course of the next week.

The PETROF TRIO from Prague make a welcome return next Sunday 17th at 6.30pm when they will be playing  a great programme to include an interesting arrangement of Janacek’s Kreutzer Quartet for piano trio and well as Dvorak’s typically Czech 2nd Piano Trio.

Then on Thursday evening 21st March at 7.30pm there is an opportunity to hear the MERZ PIANO TRIO from New York who will play two of the very greatest trios by Ravel and Schubert. What a feast for piano trio lovers, Roger

The Chapel, Park Lane NR2 3EF


Tickets £15 on the door – students under 25 free

Sunday 17th March at 6.30pm


Janacek: Kreutzer  Sonata arr  for piano trio  
Rachmaninov: Elegiac Trio No 1
Dvorak: Piano trio no 2 Op 26

Thursday 21st March at 7.30pm


Brigid Coleridge violin       Julia Yang cello Lee Dionne piano

Ravel; Piano Trio in A minor
Schubert; Piano Trio No 1 in B flat D898

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

UEA Choir, Chamber Choir and Symphony Orchestra perform Poulenc and Berlioz 21 March 2019

Poulenc and Berlioz concert by UEA Music
Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

Handel Birthday Concert : Brooke Street Band 22 February 2019

The Brook Street Band’s Handel birthday concert, takes place at 7pm on Friday 22 February at Fishmongers’ Recital Hall, Gresham’s School. There’s a booking link here https://www.ticketsource.co.uk/date/602395

Handel’s Italian sojourn from 1707-1710 not only shaped his musical style and interests, but introduced him to one of the sopranos that was to play an important and recurring role in his music. Handel first met Margherita Durastanti when in Rome in 1707, with Durastanti performing both Armida Abandonata and O Qualis de Coelo Sonus.Their paths later crossed in London from 1720: Durastanti sung Handel’s Crudel Tiranno amor at a benefit concert in her honour, and she had roles in many successful Handel operas in the early 1720s. There seems to have been a ten year break in the working partnership, but Durastanti worked for Handel again in 1734.

Handel and Margherita Durastanti – a musical marriage” explores these early Handel works for Durastanti, both sacred and secular, contrasting these with later London works in the operatic field. Interspersed are trio sonatas, including one of Handel’s earliest, a teenaged composition dating from 1699, and one of his more mature works, composed in London in the 1730s at the height of his operatic success.

The Brook Street Band
‘Vital and vivacious’ The Guardian
‘Masterly performances’ Gramophone Magazine

Nicki Kennedy (soprano)
Rachel Harris and Karin Björk (baroque violins)
Tatty Theo (baroque cello)
Carolyn Gibley (harpsichord)

O Qualis de coelo sonus HWV239
Trio Sonata Op.2 No. 2 (g minor)
Armida Abbandonata HWV105
Cara Speme (from Giulio Cesare in Egitto HWV17)
Trio Sonata Op.5 No.4 (G Major)
Crudel Tiranno Amor HWV97

Posted in Brooke Street Band | Leave a comment