Assembly House Classical Lunchtime concert Thursday 28 March 1pm



19 Year Old Saxophonist ROB BURTON – one of the stars of the BBC YOUNG MUSICIAN 2018 – will be in Norwich on Thursday 1pm for one of the Assembly House classical lunchtime concerts. Those of us who watched the televised final last year will not forget Rob’s charismatic performance. He brings with him pianist CHRISTINE ZERAFA for an exciting programme details below;-

Music Room, Assembly House, Norwich
Thursday March  28 at 1pm

Tickets on the door or online

Rob Burton (saxophone) & Christine Zerafa (piano)

Debussy; Saxophone Rhapsodie
Paul Creston; Saxophone Sonata Op.19
Marcello; Concerto in D minor
Robert Planel; Prelude et Saltarelle
Pedro Iturralde; Pequena Czarda

Posted in Assembly House, lunchtime concerts, Music in Norwich, Norwich concerts, Uncategorized, what's on in Norwich | Leave a comment

Tonight at Theatre Royal Norwich Flanders Symphony Orchestra 7.30pm


Photo of Filippo Gorini

Filippo Gorini

Sunday 17 March 2019, 7.30pm


Jan Latham Koenig conductor
Filippo Gorini soloist (piano)

Rossini The Italian Girl in Algiers
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3
Puccini Chrysanthemums
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 (The Scottish)

Tickets: £10 – £37.50

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Concerts at The Chapel, Park Lane, Norwich

There will be a great opportunity to hear some fine piano trios in the course of the next week.

The PETROF TRIO from Prague make a welcome return next Sunday 17th at 6.30pm when they will be playing  a great programme to include an interesting arrangement of Janacek’s Kreutzer Quartet for piano trio and well as Dvorak’s typically Czech 2nd Piano Trio.

Then on Thursday evening 21st March at 7.30pm there is an opportunity to hear the MERZ PIANO TRIO from New York who will play two of the very greatest trios by Ravel and Schubert. What a feast for piano trio lovers, Roger

The Chapel, Park Lane NR2 3EF

Tickets £15 on the door – students under 25 free

Sunday 17th March at 6.30pm


Janacek: Kreutzer  Sonata arr  for piano trio  
Rachmaninov: Elegiac Trio No 1
Dvorak: Piano trio no 2 Op 26

Thursday 21st March at 7.30pm


Brigid Coleridge violin       Julia Yang cello Lee Dionne piano

Ravel; Piano Trio in A minor
Schubert; Piano Trio No 1 in B flat D898

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

UEA Choir, Chamber Choir and Symphony Orchestra perform Poulenc and Berlioz 21 March 2019

Poulenc and Berlioz concert by UEA Music
Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

Handel Birthday Concert : Brooke Street Band 22 February 2019

The Brook Street Band’s Handel birthday concert, takes place at 7pm on Friday 22 February at Fishmongers’ Recital Hall, Gresham’s School. There’s a booking link here

Handel’s Italian sojourn from 1707-1710 not only shaped his musical style and interests, but introduced him to one of the sopranos that was to play an important and recurring role in his music. Handel first met Margherita Durastanti when in Rome in 1707, with Durastanti performing both Armida Abandonata and O Qualis de Coelo Sonus.Their paths later crossed in London from 1720: Durastanti sung Handel’s Crudel Tiranno amor at a benefit concert in her honour, and she had roles in many successful Handel operas in the early 1720s. There seems to have been a ten year break in the working partnership, but Durastanti worked for Handel again in 1734.

Handel and Margherita Durastanti – a musical marriage” explores these early Handel works for Durastanti, both sacred and secular, contrasting these with later London works in the operatic field. Interspersed are trio sonatas, including one of Handel’s earliest, a teenaged composition dating from 1699, and one of his more mature works, composed in London in the 1730s at the height of his operatic success.

The Brook Street Band
‘Vital and vivacious’ The Guardian
‘Masterly performances’ Gramophone Magazine

Nicki Kennedy (soprano)
Rachel Harris and Karin Björk (baroque violins)
Tatty Theo (baroque cello)
Carolyn Gibley (harpsichord)

O Qualis de coelo sonus HWV239
Trio Sonata Op.2 No. 2 (g minor)
Armida Abbandonata HWV105
Cara Speme (from Giulio Cesare in Egitto HWV17)
Trio Sonata Op.5 No.4 (G Major)
Crudel Tiranno Amor HWV97

Posted in Brooke Street Band | Leave a comment

Brook Street Band Anniversary Concert

Tatty Theo & Carolyn Gibley celebrate the 20th anniversary of their first concert together with a programme of Handel & Geminiani with some additional Burns Night surprises – do come along. 

Full details of the chapel series for 2019 can be viewed R

The Chapel, 64 Park Lane, NR2 3EF

Tickets £15 on the door – under 25 free

Friday January 25 at 7.30pm

Brook Street Band Anniversary                                                                              Tatty Theo – baroque cello
Carolyn Gibley – harpsichord 

Handel; Cello Sonata in G major & Sarabande from Suite in G minor  
Cervetto; Cello Sonata in A minor Op 2/5
Geminiani; Prelude from Pieces de Clavecin  
Handel; Cello sonata in D minor   &   Lascia ch’io pianga
Geminiani; Cello Sonata in C major Op 5/3


Posted in Chamber Music, Music in Norwich, Norwich, Norwich concerts, Park Lane Chapel, what's on in Norwich | Leave a comment

Opportunity for young people – International Summer School

Norwich School and Pro-Am Strings are excited to be running a new International Music Summer School from 30th July-14th August 2019, held at Norwich School’s newly refurbished Music School. 

The course will be suitable for young talented players of the violin, viola, cello and piano (14-18 years old) and will consist of individual instrumental music lessons and chamber music coaching, together with an immersion into the English language and culture. 

At weekends, there will be trips to London and Cambridge and visits to local attractions. A special team will be providing evening entertainment so there will be lots of fun and games! We would encourage any international pupil who is keen to study in the UK in future to apply.

Please find the prospectus attached. For more information, visit

Pro-Am Strings has produced a short video which may also be useful to share with friends and family:–hjpw

Let me know if you don’t have access to YouTube where you live, as I can send the trailer via WeTransfer if needed.

If you have any questions, please contact me at

Henriette de Vrijer

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment