Assembly House Classical : Maxim Calver & Kumi Matsuo

We are back THIS week with another lunchtime concert at The Assembly House in Norwich.
We are very excited to welcome back BBC Young Musician finalist MAXIM CALVER with pianist KUMI MATSUO and an excellent new programme… 

British cellist Maxim Calver made his concerto debut in Symphony Hall, Birmingham as part of the Grand Final of BBC Young Musician 2018. His performance of Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, was praised for its ‘natural ease’ and ‘emotional lyricism’. Earlier in the competition he won the Strings Category, performing works by Lutoslawski, Brahms and Stravinsky.

Thursday 4th August 2022


Beethoven – Sonata for piano and cello op.5 no.1
I) Adagio Sostenuto – Allegro
II) Rondo. Allegro Vivace

Schumann – Fantasiestucke op.73
Zart und mit Ausdruck (Tender and with expression)
Lebhaft, leicht (Lively, light)
Rasch und mit Feuer (Quick and with fire)

Prokofiev – Cello Sonata in C major op.119
I) Allegro Grave
II) Moderato
III) Allegro ma non troppo

Book here or take a chance on the door

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s