Britten Sinfonia : Alison Bolsom : An American Rhapsody

Sunday 14 November 2021

Norwich Theatre Royal, Theatre Street, Norwich NR2 1RL

Photographer: Hugh Carswell

Alison Balsom trumpet
Tom Poster piano
Nicholas Daniel cor anglais
Scott Stroman conductor
Britten Sinfonia 

Programme to include:
Rodrigo arr. Gil Evans/Miles Davis Concierto de Aranjuez
Copland Quiet City 
Gershwin arr. Simon Wright  Rhapsody in Blue 
Ives The Unanswered Question

Britten Sinfonia joins forces with star trumpeter Alison Balsom in a concert harnessing the power and legacy of Miles Davis and the enduring musical influence of the Jazz Age. An arrangement of Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez is punctuated by jazz-inspired works of the 20th century capturing the spirit of New York: Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, infused with the rhythms and noises of the modern city, and Copland’s evocative Quiet City.

Ticket prices: £35, £28, £20, £15, £10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s